Thursday, October 25, 2012

Pokemon Black 2 White 2 a Genuine Sequel?

Pokemon Black 2 and White 2

Pokemon Black 2 and White 2. Yup, I had my doubts. After so many Pokemon games, I really started to feel like most were simple copy and paste games with a few added tweaks here and there to make it seem like a stand alone game. And while not every Pokemon game was like this, I still felt that far too many were. When I first read about Pokemon Black 2 and White 2 I thought, "So, yet another Pokemon game that's more or less the same thing. Figures." But my curiosity peaked when I heard from fellow gamers that they were surprised with what the games have to offer and the sheer amount of new content. For those who know you would like the game already, here are some links to Amazon and Grainger Games. In this review, I'll cover a few reasons why even a worn out Pokemon fan like me has reason to see the franchise in a different way; rejuvenated,  if you will. And there's almost nothing better than welcoming back a dear friend you've known almost your whole life. In this case, perhaps we needed the time apart, because the changes are, for the most part, a much needed, refreshing experience.

Pokemon Black 2 White 2 Trailer Youtube vid by AttemptedHeadshotDS

Sunday, October 14, 2012

The Absolutely Great Square Pack

The absolutely great square pack has the number one spot on Amazon's best selling video games list. Here's the deal they're offering: 7 games plus a DLC for $9.99, the original list price being $164.68 - about a 94% savings as you save around $154 bucks. Now, normally I don't post about a deal as my reviews are about the games themselves, but this one seems like a steal. And the reason I write these reviews is to help you determine which games you may want and save you some money. Well, I'd be doing you a disservice by not mentioning any deals I come across that are actually worth it. There's a lot of people reading this blog and I thought I should give you all a heads up just in case you aren't aware. This is one of those weekly deals Amazon promotes. So it should end around October 20th.

Thursday, October 11, 2012

Dishonored a Refreshing Take on Assassination



Gamers, in Dishonored you assume the role of Corvo Attano, a protector of the Empress in the Victorian style meets industrial revolution city of Dunwall, a rotting, grimy city with a decimated population due to a plague reminiscent of the Black Plague that swept Europe during the medieval ages. In this world, Whale oil is the life force of the city that powers the city streets and lines the pockets of the nobility with cash. With a city plagued with disease it doesn't help the guys running everything are some of the most corrupt individuals to ever appear in a video game. This is a world of scheming, backstabbing, political maneuvering, and power struggles between those with the right heritage and all the poor sobs caught in the middle as they die in the streets. Rats gotta eat too, ya know. As the protector of the Empress, you fail to prevent her assassination and are wrongly accused of the crime. Hence, Dishonored. Corvo doesn't take kindly to being the pawn in a political game. And neither should you. So help a guy out, take the reins, avenge the Empress, save the heir, and reclaim your honor. Should be no problem. For those who already know you want the game, check it out on Amazon For the rest of you who aren't sure yet, read the review and decide for yourselves.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Resident Evil 6 Disappointment

The wait is over and fans of the Resident Evil games are flocking to the stores and shopping online to get their hands on Resident Evil 6. The towering behemoth franchise has raised some eyebrows over recent years with the new directions and twists integrated and emphasized with the more recent games. Many have claimed the new approach of the series is sapping away the vim of what made the older games household names of gamers around the world. Many wondered if Resident Evil 6 would continue the string of summer blockbuster movies, I mean, games and brush aside elements of fear and suspense that were groundbreaking achievements of games past. In my mind, it's actually the die-hards of the games that may want to steer clear, and those who are new or who have never played that may consider picking this one up. Why do I say that? For many who placed their hopes into the new release, I'm sorry to say, you're in for some disappointment, this is a very different Resident Evil. On the other side of that coin, those of you who get your kicks from intense action and instant thrills of the exploding nature, you're in for a treat. Because Resident Evil 6 may be closer to an action movie with cool special effects and infected monstrosities, than it is to a survival horror-story video game.

Resident Evil 6 Trailer Youtube vid by CapcomUnityVideos

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Dead or Alive 5 Rock Paper Scissors

Dead or Alive 

The Dead or Alive series is known for its exceptional gameplay and all kinds of eye candy for the guys to look at. The characters, whether they be the brutal ninja of leather, Ryu Hayabusa, or the unrealistically large bust of Hitomi, the aspiring karate master, are more than happy to destroy each other with a plethora of strikes, throws, and holds all in destructible and exploding environments that are as fun to watch as they are to fight in. For the fans of the previous games, you'll want to buy this one. For the rest of you who may be on the fence or simply curious as to what the game is like, read on and find out.

Dead or Alive 5 Gameplay Trailer Youtube vid by CommuityGame

Saturday, October 6, 2012

Left 4 Dead 2: Cold Stream

Community Created Cold Stream DLC

I know it's been out for a while, but it's time for my review of the community-created Left 4 Dead 2 DLC: Cold Stream. Cold Stream features a new, community-driven and created campaign. And while some have written off the campaign as amateurs at work, I'd argue it's a remarkable first attempt and will only get better over time. Because you just know Valve will continue this practice for their die-hard fans. The community loved the project and despite a few snarky nay-sayers, the campaign came together pretty well in my books. So here are some things I agree with and disagree with in response to some of the reviews out there.

Cold Stream Gameplay Youtube vid by deluxe345

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Mass Effect 3 Leviathan DLC

Mass Effect 3 Leviathan DLC

Mass Effect 3 has stirred unprecedented videogame controversy over its ending, as I'm sure most of you gamers out there know. With the Mass Effect Extended Cut DLC, Bioware provided a bit more closure for their loyal fanbase. And now, with the Mass Effect 3 Leviathan DLC, players have the opportunity to sink their teeth into even more revelations as well as learning a bit more about the background of the Mass Effect universe. But does Leviathan hit the mark and deliver an engaging experience for you to immerse yourself in? Or does the DLC fall short? People seem split. Here's my take. Read on and see what you think.

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Borderlands 2: Seven Reasons to Buy It

Borderlands 2

7 Reasons to Buy Borderlands 2

1. Loot, Loot, and more Loot. Kill monsters, blow everything up, run things over, and otherwise bring about as much carnage and mayhem as humanly (or robotically) possible. Kill everything in sight that so much as looks at you funny. "You talking to me?" and since there's no one else there, curb stomp em with your gun. Afterwards, scavenge the battlefield and search for better gun, grenades, and other weapons that will make you even more unstoppable.

2. Combat Customization. Borderlands 2 offers far more customization to the abilities of the story's heroes. Skills and abilities branch off, making you choose which paths you'd like to follow to build your character. And while each individual class will be more or less the same at its core, the fun little tweaks and optimization proves to be far more dynamic. You and your bud may both be playing as an assassin, but that doesn't mean you'll be taking down those pesky Pandora critters in the same way. My pal sniped and scored those head shots. I got in close and sliced and diced.

3. Tag in with up to three friends online and take the battle to Jack and his minions. Enemies get tougher with more players. But never fear, you and your rag tag entourage of Vault Hunters can use your unique abilities to command the field, back each other up, and sync attacks for devastating effects. Gunzerker can do what he does best, become Hulk with bazookas, a Commando can throw in a turret and draw enemy fire, your assassin can cloak  close in, and start slashing away, and your Siren can hold punks in place and they fry em up for lunch.

Friday, September 21, 2012


Dragon's Dogma

Dragon's Dogma was a game I was looking forward to and it's a shame I haven't had the opportunity to write up a review until now. I've read some reviews and heard what my friends had to say on the game. Some was good. Most . . . not so great. Bummer. But, I had to find out for myself. As I've said before, I have made the mistake of writing off a game before I even played it, only to discover the game is phenomenal. After getting my hands on it, I can say this. Dragon's Dogma is a game for the hardcore RPG enthusiast . The rest of you may want to steer clear. And here's why.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Kingdom Hearts Dream Drop Distance Review

Kingdom Hearts Dream Drop Distance

When Kingdom Hearts first came out, I was one of many who thought the bizarre mix of the cute and cuddly Disney characters and the more mature Final Fantasy themes would fall flat. It just didn't seem like a likely pairing that would succeed. I even wondered exactly what audience was the game marketing towards. But like so many others who wrote off Kingdom Hearts without even playing it, I found that once I gave the game a chance, it became one of my favorite games. This year the Kingdom Hearts series celebrated it's 10th anniversary by launching the newest game: Kingdom Hearts 3d: Dream Drop Distance. The Kingdom Hearts series has received all kinds of praise over the years and what many are wondering is: Is Dream Drop Distance another hit? My answer is a YES for those who love Kingdom Hearts , and I mean love it as in it's in their top 10 video game list. The rest of you will probably feel the way I do about that game, impressed with what the new features do right, and incredibly disappointed with what it does wrong.

Monday, September 17, 2012

What I'd like to see in Total War Rome 2

Total War Rome 2

The Creative Assembly announced not so long ago that the next game in the Total War Series will be Total War Rome 2. I can't tell you how excited I am for this game. Rome Total War happens to be my personal favorite of the Total War games. And a sequel to Rome Total War has been the most asked for game by fans. For a game that's not exactly going to hit the market any time soon, what the Creative Assembly has chosen to divulge about the game is actually a pretty big chunk of information, all things considered. Total War Rome 2 will be filled with a plethora of new features and improvements over all the games preceding it. I for one am optimistic the developers can deliver on their many promises. Here are just a few things I'd like to see, especially with the Roman faction.

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Review

Tekken Tag Tournament 2

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is finally here and if you're like me, the wait was just something you had to deal with. With the release of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 players the world over now have access to more than a few game modes for the price of sixty dollars. For those looking for an enticing story filled with engaging plot elements, development, twists and turns, and a satisfying conclusion, you're out of luck. Fortunately, as most of you may know, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is first and foremost about the gameplay with very little emphasis on the story as this is a game that is meant to be exactly what people really play it for, pummeling people with your fists online. For the casual gamer, you might want to steer clear. Tekken has an earned reputation of being one of the harder fighting games to master in the genre, and Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is perhaps the most difficult of all. But for those looking for a challenge, or you simply rock the fighting games in all shapes and forms,this is why you should get your hands on Tekken Tag Tournament 2

Friday, September 14, 2012

Asura's Wrath Kamehameha!

Asura's Wrath

If you've read reviews about Asura's Wrath and found the brief synopsis and description of the game to be somewhat lacking, that's because it's kind of hard to say exactly where this game falls into place with the gaming industry. Borrowing heavily from Western-style button mashing mixed and mashed with Japanese-style narration, story, and themes, with a tremendous amount of quick-time events, some Eastern mythology and a unique fusion of Eastern and Western music, and you may not know whether or not you missed an important turn somewhere along the way to your destination. For those knowing you'd like to get your hands on this game, you can click here and check it out on Amazon . But for the rest of you, I'll give you a rundown of what you can expect but be forewarned, a game like this seems to be one of those games people either love or absolutely hate.

Thursday, September 6, 2012

Top 10 NHL 13 Features to be Excited About

NHL 13

NHL 13 is almost here. As one of the most anticipates EA SPORTS games, I thought I'd provide a quick rundown of some new features and a couple that make a return. Now, there seems to be a war on with NFL and NHL fans over these games. Some are the diehards who buy every Madden NFL game that comes out year after year, while others' loyalties lie with NHL and the games that come out each year. Many have spoken out about what they feel are the shortcoming of the new Madden NFL 13. Many are even crying foul over the loss of some fan favorite game features (In no particular order of importance) . Not surprisingly, many are worried that NHL 13 might not live up to the hype just like NFL 13.  It sounds like this game holds promise and potential. But it wouldn't be the first time an EA SPORTS game failed to deliver on its promises. We'll have to wait and see. Fingers crossed folks.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Halo Reach Pyrrhic Victory

Halo Reach

Let's talk about Halo Reach. We all know Halo 4 is on its way in November. Lately I've been dusting off some old video games. And while Halo Reach isn't exactly one of the older games on the 360, it's certainly been a while since I last played. It was like welcoming an old friend. For those who don't own a copy of Halo Reach but you've been considering it, it's time you did . Halo Reach is worth every penny of its purchase price and while it may not be the perfect shooter, there is so much content and fun to be had I can personally guarantee the vast majority of those who really give the game a chance will enjoy it.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

LA Noire You Better Start Talking

LA Noire JBLivin

LA Noire

Detective gamermonkey: video game investigator. You're probably wondering why I brought you here. I'll level with you, kiddo. Word around town is you haven't gone out and bought a certain game . A certain game you should own, see? You wouldn't happen to know what game I'm talking about, would you? LA Noire? No? Shut your mouth! I know you know that I know you haven't bought this game yet! Your story is full of holes and I'm gonna beat your @ss if you don't start talking! So what's it gonna be? Come clean and I'll put in a good word with the DA about extenuating circumstances.

Monday, September 3, 2012

Angry Birds Trilogy Are You Kidding Me?

FOR MATURE READERS (and yes, it's because of the youtube vid. fair warning)

Okay, so those in the gaming community already know this but I thought I'd address it here on my video game blog. Reviewing and previewing video games, that's what a gamermonkey does. Not so long ago, we all heard and read about Angry Birds coming to the console. Huzzahs all around. We were psyched. Yes, very excited indeed. An actual Angry Birds game for the console. Our minds wandered and extrapolated fantastical and elaborate ideas oh what a game like that would be like. If Angry Birds was so much fun on the phone, iPad, etc, just imagine on the PS3 or 360. Heck, even 3DS is getting in on the shenanigans. And then, like freaking Lucy, Rovio and Activision snatched the football that is our Angry Birds and we found ourselves flat on our backs while Snoopie and Woodstock laughed at us. After reading the game is selling for $40 I had but one question: ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

Sunday, September 2, 2012

A Look at Borderlands 2

Borderlands 2

Borderlands 2 is set about five years after the ending of the original. Handsome Jack has swooped in and claimed all the glory for himself, imprisoning the four vault Vault Hunters, and taking control of the planet. You play as one of four new characters and win a gladiator type competition held by Handsome Jack. But, he's a real jerk. No prizes for you. Cause he's a wuss and sees you as a threat. And then he maroons you on the frozen tundras of Pandora. So there you are, freezing and no swag for all your efforts. I'd be pissed off too. Of course, events transpire, and you find yourself on a mission to help the original Vault Hunters and take down Jack's stranglehold on Pandora. It's time to pre-order while you can. And you're gonna need a gun, maybe two . . .

Borderlands 2 Trailer Youtube vid by gearboxsoftware

Saturday, September 1, 2012

Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Preview

Tekken Tag Tournament 2

Gamers of the Fighting genre rejoice. Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is within our grasp. About nine short days here in America. As I'm sure you've been keeping up with the latest news and gossip, there's a lot to talk about and look forward to with Tekken Tag Tournament 2. People are scrambling to pre-order the game, while others are still on the fence about it, worried it's just a generic arcade game slapped on the console. These are some legitimate concerns as many people felt the original Tekken Tag Tournament lacked what made the other Tekken games so great. In this preview I'll be talking about some of the features everyone is raving about and looking forward to.

Tekken Tag Tournment 2 Trailer Youtube vid by Namco Bandai Games

Friday, August 31, 2012

Mortal Kombat Finish Him

Mortal Kombat

Mortal Kombat is my favorite fighting game to date. I won't waste your time. If you're on the very edge of buying this game, have no fear. It's worth it . Mortal Kombat bursts with content, more than any other fighting game I can think of. Expect to plug in about 5-10 hours with story mode alone with some of your favorite characters. And that's just story mode.

Mortal Kombat Cinematic Trailer (Mature) Youtube vid by RajmanGamingHD 

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Little Big Planet 2 Look out Super Mario

Little Big Planet 2

I'll cut to the chase this time. No elaborate, inspiring, attention-grabbing, over-analyzed, smack-the-reader-across-the-face introduction here. Little Big Planet 2 has been out for a while now. Do you have it in your video game library? No? Then it's time . And here's why.

Little Big Planet 2 has 30+ levels to play with the game's hero Sackboy on a mission to save the world from Negativitron, a monster who is eating the cities of Craftworld. Oh no!

While it may play like a traditional 2D platformer, Little Big Planet 2  has unique and creative level designs that are a blast to play. The diversity alone is enough to buy the game. Whether hopping around, swinging, flying, racing, button mashing, or even riding around on a caterpillar to nanomachine  to rid a poor soul of an infection. Expect the unexpected, and then don't expect it because your mind would blow up. Wha?

Little Big Planet Trailer Youtube by LittleBigPlanet

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

The Last Story: a Final Fantasy Parody?

The Last Story

JRPGs has experienced some amazing, even record-breaking success over the years. Since the 1980's to, well, roughly around 2003 or so, JRPG seemed like they could do no wrong. Of course, Final Fantasy was the main flagship of the genre, and for good reason. But what we've seen over the last few years, perhaps starting with Final Fantasy 12 is that the franchise has been in somewhat of a slump. And with a Goliath like Final Fantasy plumit the way it has many wondered if JRPGs simply lacked what gamers want in a video game these days. The Last Story definitely alleviates any worries and notions that the genre has gone stale. Should you buy it? Yes. New, used, or rented, you should get your hands on this game. And here's why.

The Last Story Trailer Youtube vid by IGN

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Rayman Origins a Lum Review

Rayman Origins

When it comes to video games it seems the current trend for success is violence, chaos, and complete destruction. From shooters of every kind to post apocalyptic games, our is a generation that craves screaming and mayhem. That's why it's my joy and pleasure to come across a game that takes players a step back from the constant head shots, the slitting of throats, the bashing of zombie skulls, and the gore and carnage of realistic warfare. Rayman Origins is the answer to what many players desperately need: A few hours to breathe and remember that destruction isn't all there is to gaming. How good is Rayman Origins? Should you buy it? Here's my take.

Rayman Origins Trailer Youtube by Ubisoft

Monday, August 27, 2012

Empire Total War

Empire Total War

Empire Total War is a vast and complex game that is somewhat daunting to dive into, especially for those who are new the the franchise. There are so many controls, micromanagement,  and elements in the game from the very start, it's more than understandable. Even the highlight of what makes the game so much fun to play, can take a while to learn and even longer to achieve a level of competence that is enough to, say take on a veteran online whose been playing the game for months, even a few years. That being said, once the player finally starts to discover and learn the controls and familiarize themselves with how the game works, what they will find is Empire Total War is actually fairly simple once the basics (of which there are many) are out of the way.

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Final Fantasy 13-2 I Choose You!!!

Final Fantasy 13-2

Final Fantasy 13 came with its ups and downs. You either loved it or you hated it. The number one complaint, it seemed, was its linear pathways and corridors. In fact, “linear” was perhaps the word that popped up the most and was the number one word used to describe Final Fantasy 13. And with the new release, Final Fantasy 13-2, many were afraid that the sequel would continue the unfortunate linear experience so many gamers loathed about the original. So does Final Fantasy 13-2 fix this issue? Does it reignite hope in SQUARE and it’s ability to create memorable, beloved Final Fantasy games ? Or does Final Fantasy 13-2 come with its own set of problems that hold it back from greatness? All of this, and more, will be answered in this review.

Saturday, August 25, 2012

Super Mario Galaxy 2 with Yoshi!

Super Mario Galaxy 2

In 2007 Super Mario Galaxy swept the world with its amazing platfoming gameplay. Many thought it couldn’t be done, but behold, Super Mario Galaxy 2 may actually be even better than the original in both its gameplay and brilliant musical score. It’s just about everything you’d expect from Nintendo, and at the same time, it’s so much more. As a sequel, Super Mario Galaxy 2 stands tall as a titan among sequels, and stomps on any fears or notions that I may be a simple rehash of the original with a few tweaks here and there. For a game like this, the question isn’t whether or not you should buy it, it’s why you wouldn’t . Let’s discuss some of the biggest selling points, and where, perhaps, Super Mario Galaxy 2 might fall a little short.

Friday, August 24, 2012

Just Dance 3 Bust a Move

Just Dance 3

Just Dance 3 is dancing games at their best. These are the party games of the younger generation and the up and coming generation. Like many universal games out there like Rock Band, this is another game that is just perfect for get togethers and good times with family and friends. .  You don’t even have to be someone who can bust a move on the dance floor well enough to draw a crowd around you. All you have to do is what the name implies and the rest will pretty much fall into place.

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Left 4 Dead 2 Reloading!

Left 4 Dead 2

Left 4 Dead 2 came out about a single year after the original. This had many people up in arms accusing Valve of snapping out a game before it could possibly be ready to make a quick buck. Folks were worried it would be the same game, just perhaps a different setting and new characters to play as. Others were convinced Valve could pull it off and create another hit game wherein the reward is a satisfying twist on the zombie apocalypse. So is Left 4 Dead 2 just a cheap cash in? If so, is it worth your money? Or did Valve pull a fast one over its customers? The answer is…. A bit of a yes and a no. The yes is, it’s NOW worth your money . The no is, it is more or less the same game as its predecessor with some twists here and there. In this review I’ll discuss why it may or may not be worth your money while explaining why it wasn’t worth the $60 bucks it asked for upon release.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Gears of War 3 Conclusion

Gears of War 3

Gears of War 3 is the epic conclusion of the Gears of War Trilogy. Epic Games has pulled off something that any video game developer will tell you, three consecutive games that are brilliant and hit just about every goal the team strived for. Gears of War 3 introduces new enemies, engages the player in an enthralling story, maintains interest in the characters players have come to know and love, and continues to set the bar for single and online gameplay. So the question remains, is Gears of War 3 worth the investment? ? Is it really worth my money? And it really as good as people say it is? Read on, see what I think, and then decide for yourselves.

New Super Mario Bros. 2 Coin Rush Review!

New Super Mario Bros. 2

There are platforming games out there that set the bar and ups the standards in gaming; platformers which, at the height of their glory with roughly 25 years of excellence and counting, are considered to be some of the best of the best. When most gamers think of platforming perfection, the name Super Mario comes to mind. Super Mario has very good for the Nintendo Wii, selling missions of games for the console. After hits such as Mario Galaxy 1 and 2, and New Super Mario Bros. Wii, Nintendo decided to launch the sequel for the Nintendo 3DS. New Super Mario Bros. 2 is, just like its predecessor, a fun and nostalgic adventure through the beloved Mushroom Kingdom. But despite the new additions to New Super Mario Bros 2, the game still has some sketchy level design and falls short of the Super Mario games that have come before it. As a game itself, New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a tremendous accomplishment . But one can't help but compare it to the previous Super Mario game.

Sunday, August 19, 2012

Sleeping Dogs Review


Sleeping Dogs Briefing 

Sleeping Dogs is a game that pulled its own little miracle to be here. After the planned title True Crime Hong Kong was dropped and canceled by Activision due to high development costs and delays, Square Enix came along and pulled the game back on its feet by purchasing the publishing rights. Some were surprised by this as Square Enix is best known for the Final Fantasy franchise and many wondered where the titan developer would take the game. And though True Crime Hong Kong has been reincarnated as Sleeping Dogs , the question still remains: Did Square Enix revive the fallen game and deliver with Sleeping Dogs? Or is the game an unfortunate swing and a miss?

Friday, August 17, 2012

Darksiders 2 Death Comes For Us All

Darksiders 2

When Darksiders came out there was some controversy over the gameplay. Many accused Darksiders of leeching off of the successful formulas of other franchises. A new that came up over and over again was The Legend of Zelda. And with the release of Darksiders 2, many worried the sequel would continue the questionable practices of the first game. But do you want to know what I think? Get over it, people. The question shouldn’t be whether or not a game does the same thing as others. If one were to bash a game for that then just about every other game out there would be rubbish. Prince of Persia, Assassin’s Creed, Drake’s Deception, heck, even Super Mario can be compared to similar platfomrers. And just because there are many elements in common, does that make all these game bad? No. Call of Duty, Metal of Honor, Battlefield, all very similar games in most respects. Are they bad games or derivative copies? Nope.  So what gives? I’ll tell you. What’s important is that a game adds its own twist to something that’s been done before. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is almost the same as the original at its core, but it’s the tweaks, twists, and improvements that set it apart. So now that we have that sorted, it’s time for the actual review. I’ll explain why Darksiders 2 is a pretty good game, and one you should consider adding to your library if you enjoyed the original , and yet isn’t among the greats out there.

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

The Darkness 2 Just When Jackie Boy Thought He Was Out


The Darkness 2

The Darkness 2 may not be your run of the mill first person military shooter by any means, but there is one thing that it delivers more than perhaps any other shooter out there: An overwhelming sense of empowerment. Jackie Estacado ravages his way through the sequel of The Darkness. And if you were a fan of the original like me, you’ll want to pick this game up . With an increased emphasis on brutal, gruesome combat with more “Oh Snap” moments than the player can count, the Darkness 2 is a game with a story that, while compelling, is a bit slow to pick up, but players may not even care all that much as they’ll be too busy ripping the spines out of their enemies.

Monday, August 13, 2012

Just Cause 2 BABLAM!


Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2 was an open world game I looked forward to since I first saw trailers of action and explosions that would give any summer blockbuster a run for its money. With guns blazing, Just Cause 2 promised players a world of guns, high speed pursuits, government take-downs, and of course, even more explosions. This wasn't a game I was planning on reviewing. However, as I’m always game to hear from my readers, I’m always open to suggestions and even requests. A fan (you know who you are) requested I review Just Cause 2, and I’m thrilled at the opportunity as Just Cause 2 truly is a game worth mentioning. If you enjoyed the original, you’ll love this game and I highly recommend those of you who liked the first game go out and add this one to your library .

Duke Nukem Forever Balls of Fail

Yeah, this sums the game up.

Duke Nukem Forever

Duke Nukem Forever. I want 12 hours of my life back. Sadly, that’s just impossible. I’ve played it. Put up with it. Completed it. Subjected my eyes and ears to its monstrosity. And now I can’t unplay it. I am so glad I borrowed this game from an unfortunate friend who bought this game when it came out rather than buy it myself. This is a game that all except a few diehard fans who live and die the Nukem way  should avoid. So how can Duke Nukem Forever be so bad, especially compared to its beloved predecessors? I’ll tell you!!!

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Is Saints Row The Third Overrated?


Saints Row The Third

In Saints Row the Third, the Saints are in a whole new city with new turf to claim and rival gangs to dispose of. Sounds good right? And people seem to like it. It’s received universal acclaim and has received near prefect reviews, even from the big guys who only seem to give perfect scores to the likes of Call of Duty or Battlefield. Well guess what? I’m not one of them! But why? Clearly Saints Row the Third must be an outstanding game with such high scores and sales in the millions. Why don’t I like it? I’ll tell you why I don't, at least when compared to saints Row 2 and maybe when I’m done, it’ll help you take off your Saints goggles. Now, before I go on, just know, the game is relatively good in my books, but I’m here to explain why it doesn’t deserve the near perfect scores it’s receives. Definitely a game worth purchasing if you are a fan of the first two Saints Row games , but ultimately, disappointing overall in terms of a sequel and is, in my opinion, overrated.

Friday, August 3, 2012

The Sims 3 Bigger and Better

The Sims 3

The Sims is one of the most successful franchises on the market, and for good reason. It is, by far, the most well-known people simulator you're likely to find anywhere. But most importantly, it provides players with a compelling and captivating sandbox that affords freedom of choice few games could ever hope to even compare to. If you're a fan of previous Sims games, the Sims 3 is definitely the game for you . If you've become somewhat jaded, the Sims 3 does manage to add enough changes and improvements that may renew your faith in the franchise.

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Fable 3 and Monty Python


Fable 3

Fable 3 has a lot of personality players can get lost in if they know where to look. With tons of corky characters, an absolutely beautiful soundtrack, impressive environments and set pieces, and a plot that, though overdone, appeals to gamers consistently, Fable 3 did have the potential to become something greater than its predecessors. Unfortunately, it just let every little advantage slip through its fingers, becoming something only die-hard fans would want to buy . Don't believe me? Here is a list of grievances I've put together to declare indepen- i mean, to prove my point.

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Uncharted 3 Drake's Deception with Fistycuffs

Uncharted 3 Drake's Deception 

Uncharted 3 Drakes Deception is an experience unlike any other. Both fans of the Uncharted series and those new to the games alike will be downright awestruck at the improvements to what has already been declared to be a near perfect formula. With an intriguing plot full of twists turns and vaults, memorable, organic characters, and a level of design and intricacy that continues to set the bar for the PS3, and indeed, all platforms, Uncharted 3 Drake's Deception is a definitely a game to look into . So take a quick breath, and we’ll dive in.

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Skylanders Spyro's Adventure the Fun the Pokemon the Expense

Skylanders Spyro's Adventure

Skylanders Spyro's Adventure. When I first looked into this game, I laughed it off as an obvious ploy to get some major $$$ from parents and grandparents of young children everywhere. And then I thought of all the money I've spent on Pokenmon Cards in my youth. All the games I bought. All the games my parents bought for me. All the money I saved from my allowances and doing odd jobs whether it was watching a neighbor's pet while they were away, mowing lawns, and so on, all to get some money and buy more cards and games. 

Prototype 2 Cry 'Havoc' and Let Slip James Heller

Prototype 2

In Prototype 2 you can expect all of the action, destruction, mayhem, and chaos of the original. Maybe even more so with Prototype 2. The game is a bloodbath. It's brutal. Blood and gore may leak from your T.V. or computer screen. And your controller/keyboard might just explode. If you see any warnings of this, not to worry. It just means you're playing the game the way it's meant to be played. And anyone who likes the idea of becoming an unstoppable force of nature will be consumed. If you enjoyed Prototype, you'll want to get Prototype 2 .

Friday, July 27, 2012


What is Magicka?

Where did this game come from? That’s what I was wondering upon Magicka’s release. Magicka is, if anything, a controversial game that swept Steam players the world over. magicka was made by an independent developer called Paradox. And it’s an impressive little game, making about 30,000 dollars in revenue in the first twenty four hours of its release; that’s pretty good for an independent developer.

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Top 10 Nintendo 64 Games Part 2

Gamer Monkey's Top 10 Nintendo 64 Games Part 2

This is a list direct from my Squidoo Lens. And while I made this list originally for Squidoo, I thought, why not my Blog as well? It's a very thorough list so I decided to split it into two parts. This list is not based on sales or overall popularity; it is my personal preference. But feel free to let me know what you think in the comments. I'd love to know your top 10 Nintendo 64 games.

Top 10 Nintendo 64 Games Part 1

Gamer Monkey's Top 10 Nintendo 64 Games Part 1

This is a list direct from my Squidoo Lens. And while I made this list originally for Squidoo, I thought, why not my Blog as well? It's a very thorough list so I decided to split it into two parts. This list is not based on sales or overall popularity; it is my personal preference. But feel free to let me know what you think in the comments. I'd love to know your top 10 Nintendo 64 games.

Heavy Rain: Magnifique

Heavy Rain

Heavy Rain is a story unlike any other in the video game industry in that it's more of a character driven story rather than the story driving the character by forcing his or her hand to meet the circumstances or situation in the appropriate manner. Heavy rain is a deeply personal, intimate story that will reach out to the player and pull him/her right in. And though it may not be the in-your-face, heart-pounding, curb-stomping action game that seems to be the way the gaming industry is trending towards these days, Heavy Rain stands as a reminder that a game can be just as engaging and fun. What's more, it shows that, like some of the older video games, players don't need to be constantly taking on hordes of enemies, ducking behind cover, grabbing guns and waiting for their health/shields to recharge, or slicing an enemies head off in order to have a good time. That's not to say Heavy Rain doesn't have its moments that will get the adrenaline pumping. My point is this, like so many movies out there, Heavy Rain thrives in its story and suspense and intrigue, rather than throwing things at the player/observer every ten seconds. Ever wonder why so many remakes can't hold a candle to the original? In a word, Heavy Rain is Magnifigue and a must buy for PS3 owners .

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

New Super Mario Bros Wii: Must Buy!

New Super Mari Bros Wii.

New Super Mario Bros. Wii can be described in about five simple words: A laugh out loud riot. For those old enough, you remember what it was like playing the 2d Super Mario Bros. Games. Ah, the nostalgia. Anyway, New Super Mario Bros. Wii plays kind of like a tribute to the games we grew to love way back when while adding a few modern twists younger gamers have probably come to expect. What you get in the end is an outstanding mix of the old and the new. As I've hinted at in some of my other reviews, I have a love-hate relationship with the Wii, so it's especially thrilling to find a Wii game that is not only playable, but tons of fun.

Friday, July 13, 2012

NCAA Football 13: Too much of the Same Thing?

NCAA Football 13

NCAA Footal 13 has seen some major improvements over the years, but sadly, there has been some major repetition within the franchise. And while there have been some big changes to the game, loyal players from the previous installments may feel this game is a bit of a copy and paste. Regardless, there are definitely things NCAA Football 13 does right, and things it does very wrong. If you came to this blog looking for some deals on NCAA Football 13, they do exist online. .

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Halo 4 Preview

Halo 4: A Preview

Halo 4 is right around the corner and from what I've seen, it looks like I'll be playing Halo for another 4-5 years. Gah. Right when I started to feel completely Halo'd out, they pull this on me. For those of you, I dunno, born on some other planet, Halo is the game that truly launched the Xbox into stardom. And years later, it's still going the strong with millions of fans all over the world. I think it's fair to say the majority of us were a bit apprehensive when we learned that 343 would be taking over the next trilogy of Halo. In fact, I thought Halo Reach was going to be the last Halo we'd see for a while, not counting spin-offs and non FPS Halo adaptations, such as Halo Wars. But I have you say, from what I've seen, it looks like there's hope yet for the Halo franchise. In this preview, I'll be discussing what I saw in the new trailers and gameplay. And judging from what I've seen, most Halo fans will want to buy this game too .